Meet the Program Planners

Alice Myatt

Alice Myatt

Alice Myatt is an assistant professor and the assistant chair of the Department of Writing and Rhetoric, which administers first-year composition courses at the University of Mississippi. She earned her Bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Mississippi and earned her Ph. D. in English with a concentration in Composition and Rhetoric from Georgia State University in Atlanta

Ellen Shelton

Ellen Shelton currently serves as the Director for The University of Mississippi Writing Project and Director of Pre-College Programs for the Division of Outreach. She earned a B.A. in English from Hendrix College, and an M.A. in English and an Ed.D. in Curriculum and Instruction from The University of Mississippi. She is Nationally Board Certified in Adolescent/ Young Adult Language Arts and a 2003 winner of the Milken National Educator Award. She enters her 26th year an educator in the high school and university levels. She current serves on the Board of Directors for the National Writing Project. In her spare time plays the cello, spends time with her husband and her cats (not in that order), and attempts gardening.

Anna Begnaud

Anna Britt Begnaud

Anna Britt Begnaud is the chair of the English Department at Itawamba Community College; she teaches composition courses, is a self-confessed foodie, and collects passport cancellations from the national parks with her husband, Jonathan.

Brad Campbell

Brad Campbell

Brad has worked in writing centers since 2005, and he values the important role that centers play in fostering a culture of writing on college campuses, in high schools, and in local communities. His research interests include writing center theory, composition theory, and cultural studies. Specifically, he is interested in the intersection between writing and culture and the formation of writerly identities. Additionally, Brad is interested in writing center architecture and how space, locale, and aesthetics influence writerly engagement and efficacy.

No Picture

Heather Freel

Heather Freel is a graduate of the University of Mississippi with a degree in English and a minor in Southern Studies. I teach British Literature and Southern Studies at St. Benedict at Auburndale, a private Catholic school, in Memphis, Tn.

No Picture

Tatiana Glushko

Tatiana Glushko is Coordinator of the Richard Wright Center at Jackson State University, where she began as a graduate tutor in 2006. She has taught English Composition and English to Speakers of Other Languages both in Russia and in the U.S. Glushko also serves on the board of Mississippi Writing Center Association.

Kathi Griffin

Kathi R. Griffin has been actively involved in state and regional conversations about writing and the teaching of writing since she arrived in Mississippi in 1998. She is a founding member of the Mississippi Writing Center Association and Director of the Richard Wright Center for Writing, Rhetoric,and Research at Jackson State University. As director, she trains graduate and peer writing tutors, teaches composition, and leads workshops for faculty and students on a range of writing-related issues.

Guy Krueger

Guy Krueger is the Writing 101 Curriculum Chair and Core Instructor in the Department of Writing and Rhetoric at the University of Mississippi.  He has been at UM for five years.

renee moore

Renee Moore

Renee Moore, NBCT teaches English at Mississippi Delta Community College. The former high school English and journalism teacher was 2001 Mississippi Teacher of the Year as well as a recipient of the national Milken Educator Award. In 2013, Moore received the Ovid Vickers Award for Excellence in Teaching of English from her colleagues in the Two-Year College English Association of Mississippi (TYCAM).

Amber Nichols-Buckley

Amber Nichols-Buckley

Amber Nichols-Buckley has experience teaching in both the high school and college settings. She is currently a member of the teaching faculty in the Department of Writing and Rhetoric at the University of Mississippi. She teaches the first year writing sequence.